2023 Municipal Election Information


The 2023 Municipal Election Candidate Filing Period for the City of Marion and the Town of Old Fort will begin Friday, July 7, 2023 at noon and continue through July 21, 2023 at noon.

Person interested in filing must be a registered voter residing in the municipality. Filing can be completed at the McDowell County Board of Election office at 2458 NC 226 S., Marion. The required filing fee is $5.00 for Council and Alderman.

Two seats for Marion City Council and three seats for Old Fort Alderman will be on the ballot on November 7, 2023.

For more information please call 828-659-0834

2023 Municipal Election Absentee Ballot Request Portal

2023 Municipal Election Absentee Request Form to Print

McDowell Polling Places

McDowell County Polling Locations

McDowell County Voting Precinct Map                                                                                              A large precinct map is located at the McDowell County Board of Elections Office located at 2458 NC 226, Marion

One Stop Location

McDowell County Board of Elections Office, 2458 NC 226, Mairon, NC

Marion #1

Marion Elementary School

209 Roberts Street

Marion, NC 28752

Marion #2

East McDowell Middle School

676 State Street

Marion, NC 28752

Marion #3

Clinchfield Methodist Church

151 Ridge Road

Marion, NC 28752

Marion #4

First Freewill Baptist Fellowship Building

951 Baldwin Avenue

Marion, NC 28752

Marion #5

Cross Mill Church of God Fellowship Building

216 Old NC Hwy 10 W

Marion, NC 28752

Pleasant Gardens #6

Pleasant Gardens Baptist Church Fellowship Building

214 PG Baptist Church Road

Marion, NC 28752

West Marion #7

McDowell Senior Center

100 Spaulding Road

Marion, NC 28752

Crooked Creek #8

Crooked Creek Fire Department

4503 Bat Cave Rd

Old Fort, NC 28762

Dysartsville #9

Dysartsville Fire Department

9184 US Hwy 226 S

Nebo, NC 28761

 Glenwood #10

Glenwood Fire Department

1742 Old US 221 S

Marion, NC 28752

Higgins #11

Highway Patrol Station

3975 US Hwy 226 S

Marion, NC 28752

Montford Cove #12

Sugar Hill Fire Department

8883 Sugar Hill Rd

Marion, NC 28752

Nebo #13

Nebo Elementary School

254 Nebo School Road

Nebo, NC 28761

North Cove #14

Ashford North Cove Fire Department

15640 US Hwy 221 N

Marion, NC 28752

Old Fort #1

Old Fort First Baptist Church Fellowship Building

203 Main Street

Old Fort, NC 28762

Old Fort #2

Old Fort Wesleyan Church Fellowship Building

336 Catawba Avenue

Old Fort, NC 28762

Turkey Cove #17

North Cove Elementary School

401 American Thread Road

Marion, NC 28752

Our Mission

The mission of the McDowell County Board of Elections is to maintain voter registration for the citizens of McDowell County, conduct all elections held in McDowell County fair and completely impartial, to assist persons in filing for office, administer the Campaign Reporting Act, and ensure the enforcement of all election laws of the state of North Carolina.

The Elections Office is responsible for conducting all elections in McDowell County, including municipal, county, state, and  federal elections, as well as special referenda.

Services include:

  • Maintain Voter Registration Records
  • Receive Candidate Filing for General Assembly and local candidates
  • Campaign Finance office for local candidates/committees
  • Provide for Remote Absentee Voting
  • Educate Election Day Officials
  • Provide for Election Day Voting
  • Report Election Day Results to Public and Authorities
  • Evaluate and Improve Election Services
  • Provide Election Reports and Statistical Information

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑